Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Kay Kutchins Future Leaders Scholarship Fund

Kay Kutchins Future Leaders Scholarship Fund Details » Donate Online

Donations to the Kay Kutchins Future Leaders Scholarship Fund are 100% tax deductible and help provide additional funds to support our Scholarship Program.

Kay Kutchins, one of the true pioneers in the water community, passed away in mid-December 2018. Throughout her life and career she was fully committed to preparing water professionals to become the future leaders of our industry. During her long career, Kay broke through barriers that had prevented others from achieving their full potential. She was the first woman to serve as chair of the Texas Section in 1987. She was the first woman to receive the George Warren Fuller Award from the Section. She was the first woman named director, to represent the Section on the AWWA Board. Kay achieved two of the most significant awards in our industry, the Outstanding Service to the Water Industry Award and entry into the prestigious AWWA Hall of Fame, where, yes, she was the first woman to be inducted.

Among many of Kay’s training efforts, she created the NADBANK training program for U.S. and Mexico utilities and served as an instructor for ten years. She also developed and served as the lead instructor for the Texas Section Utility Management Program, which remains the only such program approved by AWWA. There are any number of water professionals around the country who credit Kay as their lifelong mentor. They’ll say: “I owe my career to what Kay Kutchins taught me.”

Kay’s pioneering impact on the water community and the lives of so many is beyond our ability to detail here, but to honor her and continue her work long into the future, the Texas Section AWWA has established the Kay Kutchins Future Leaders Scholarship. 

Kay has always believed training and education was the key to improve the future of those in our industry. To help us honor her lifetime commitment to the water community, we have begun the Kay Kutchins Future Leaders Scholarship. We ask today that you contribute today to the program that will continue Kay’s legacy by providing education support to the current and future leaders of our industry.

You can make your tax-deductible contribution by sending a check to Kay Kutchins Scholarship, c/o Texas AWWA, PO Box 80150, Austin, TX 78708 or by clicking the link below.

Please contact us at with any questions.

Texas AWWA is a 501(c)(3) Education, Scientific organization. All donations to the Texas Section AWWA and its chapters are accepted as non-restricted donations to support the approved mission specific purposes of Texas AWWA.